Answer by Scott M Gardner:

10 Years ago, I had a serious bicycle accident. I broke my left side, a rib punctured my lung, and my left femur was shattered at the top.  The pain was terrible, I was in a wheel chair for months. Eventually the top of my femur died and I had to have my hip replaced.  I have had 15 surgeries since then. I cannot run or jump, and bending my left leg is limited and painful.

The universe was not out to get me, God did not capriciously decide that I was going to get hurt, the fates did not tangle my thread at that point. I crashed because a homeless person on the bike path pushed me over. We live in an imperfect world and bad things happen.

While in the hospital I got a very good lesson on perspective.  The rehabilitation unit was in the basement of the Hospital, right next to another unit.  When I was wheeling to physical therapy, I would often pass patients from that unit.  One was a nine-year old girl. She had no hair, was mostly skin and bones, and walked down the hall pushing an IV pole with two pumps on it for her chemotherapy.  It was the children's cancer ward.

I had no head, neck or spinal injuries. I did not have a fatal disease. I would walk again. There is always someone out there who has it worse than you; that makes it hard to complain.

Last October I completed the Long Beach Marathon.  I walked it with my cane. I will admit it was one of the hardest things I have ever done. It hurt. But my injuries do not define me.

What is the best answer to: "Why me?"

Leave a Reply

