On 24 May 2009, slightly more than a year ago, I blogged about how Twitter was little more than a tedious exercise in mind numbing narcissism.

Less than six months later, having decided to get to know the beast a little better, I changed my mind. And how! I noted in February 2010, in a comment to my blog:

… it is indeed amazing how Twitter has captured public consciousness.
I think two factors come into play here:

  1. The natural human need for expression
  2. The absolute need for brevity in this time constrained rushing world of ours.

Unfortunately I suspect avid followers in Twitter probably end up wasting more time than getting productive output from it. But then again, the same can be said of any form of communication!

I suppose this proves that for any social media application, one is unqualified to comment until one tries it in some depth. Enough said.

Leave a Reply

